2001-07-14

eureeka

I went to my grandparent's house yesterday. I never really know what to do while I'm there, so I mostly just eat and play computer games, except all of the little kids also want to play on the computer, so we all end up sitting around and watching other people play things. Lemmings is pretty entertaining, though, and is kind of convincing as a team effort, especially when you're as terrible as it as I am. I need help from 10 year olds.

My grandma said, as she was giving me my birthday present, "We thought we weren't going to see you again until your next birthday." She was sick and in a recliner covered up with a blanket, and it was so sad that I almost agreed to come once a week for the rest of the summer.

Anyway, on to the exciting part of my visit. I had to be at work this afternoon at 4:00, so a little before 2 I went to change into my khakis. I was in the basement, and everybody but two of my younger cousins were upstairs. I went into a bedroom and changed my pants, but when I tried to get out, the doorknob would turn both ways, but the door wouldn't open. After trying futilely to pull the door, I thought it might be a little easier if someone pushed it from the outside. However, the noise outside the door had gotten eerily quiet, and I was kind of worried that Katherine and Maria had gone upstairs. I said, "Katherine are you still down here?" And happily, she was. So I asked her to come and try to push the door open, and after several nonsuccessful bodyslams, I told her to get someone else.

So she got my mom, and of course, my mom couldn't do anything either. But she went and got my grandpa, which was a little more helpful. He had a tool kit.

Meanwhile, Maria, who had been watching all along, wanted to go swimming. My mom said, "Don't you want to stay and see if we get Kimmy out?" And Maria said, "Just tell me if you don't get her out." And I thought that was kind of funny.

Eventually, my grandpa and my uncle Stan, who came to join the excitement, got the doorknob out, but the door was still stuck shut. So everyone looked in the hole in the door and saw me reading a children's book about Christopher Columbus. However, they decided my reading was interruptible, because they passed me a screwdriver and told me take the hinges off. Of course, i had no earthly idea how to take hinges off of a door. So my grandpa gave me a butter knife and and told me to try to get the little metal dealy out of the door with it. And I did! I mean, after a while.

And after all that, I wasn't even late for work. My grandpa said they probably wouldn't believe my story anyway. I have the springs from the doorknob to prove it, though.

And, you'll be happy to know that "the project" is coming along nicely. Well, one of them, anyway.

2:11 a.m.

previous | next