2001-05-21

2 chickens or best offer

today is beth's birthday. happy birthday beth! you won't read this anyway.

i got my own computer back too. the good life.

today i went to work. i was almost late because i was very concerned about missing the hour and a half of simpsons that were on tonight. i have approximately 1 million videotapes (unlabelled) somehow it has worked out that they all have very important, absolutely essential things on them, like willy wonka and the chocolate factory or the pink panther.

so anyway, i got to work and it was quite an unoutstanding night. we had to work in shoes too, because there was nobody over there. and while i was in the parking lot during my break i heard a car horn that played 'la cucaracha.'

after work, i was walking out to my car, always conveniently parked as far away as possible, and i saw a car that looked very like my mom's car parked next to mine. i wasn't too surprised; my dad was supposed to go pick up my mom from the train station at 10:30, so i figured that they stopped in to see me before going home. however, my dad was in the car, but my mom was not. i went out and talked to him, and i don't remember exactly what we talked about, but nothing was said about the conspicuous absence of my mother until i asked him. as it turns out, her train was late getting to chicagoand, since there is only one train a day that goes from chicago to grand rapids (a fact that i know all too well after last year's adventure in chicago), she had to wait and take a bus back here.

well, i'd like a new paragraph now.

thank you.

my dad has to get up early to go to work tomorrow, so he didn't want to wait around at the train station until 2.00 a.m. so we went to taco bell. because we were both hungry.

then we went to the train station and left my mom's car there. i was going to stay, but something about staying there didn't really appeal to me. so we just left her a car. i feel kind of bad that my mom is coming home after two weeks and no one is there to meet her. but my grandpa and aunt are there to pick up my grandma, so it's not like she'll be all alone in the parking lot, and i'll probably still be awake when she gets back here. i still feel bad, though.

the june bug terror is over. my dad said there were so many because it has been humid, but i've seen enough bad science fiction to know that when there are that many of one kind of animal, they usually are in the process of becoming superintelligent and taking over the world. but they're gone, so i guess the humans win again. go humans!

1:02 a.m.

previous | next