2001-07-19

driving in my car

so much has happened because i never ever write in this thing.

tonight at work:

the girl from the jewelry counter went somewhere and asked me to tell anyone who rang the jewelry bell that she would be back in about 15 minutes. so i did, and all of the customers got a little surly, because i think i kept telling the same people (they all look the same to me) that she would come back in 15 minutes. finally i told this guy who was very concerned about finding silver polish that i would go look for her, something i had no intention of doing. i walked away and never went back, leaving him to ponder the whereabouts of the silver polish without help from my very unknowledgable self. of course, five minutes later, he caught me standing in the diaper aisle doing nothing that resembled looking for the jewlery girl. hmmm.

i am employee of the year.

my adventures driving home from work:

there's a lot of construction on the highway right now. the eastbound lanes (the ones i need to get home) are completely closed, and you have to cross over to the westbound ones and etc. you get the point. as i am the only person that ever slows down in construction zones at midnight when there's no one working anyway, there always tends to be a line of cars behind me. tonight, though, it felt cool. me leading the rest through the maze of orange barrels to the proper side of the road, like a wagon train, or moses and the israelites. ah, yes. this is what happens after i work for eight hours.

mogwai's new album sounds good in my car at night. but i have to take back roads because highway roadnoise is louder than the music unless i turn it up all the way and then i become even deafer.

12:24 a.m.

previous | next