2001-05-24

a house full of strange men

i was awakened this morning by: "the guys are coming to put the air conditioner in and they'll probably have to go down there, so clear a path."

oh, but it was early. so i stayed in bed. i thought, 'i'll be up before they get here.'

but was i? no. so i had to go sneaking up the stairs to the shower, avoiding the strange men in my house because i was still in my pajamas. and then i got done with my shower, but by this point, the air conditioning guys were in my room. and for some reason, i had thought that bringing clothes with me to the shower was unnecessary. i didn't have anything else to wear, so i put my pajamas back on and got on the internet for about 5 minutes, when the phone man showed up to finally fix our phone line and i had to get off the internet. i played the 'golf' solitaire game, as i have become addicted to it and probably have played roughly 400 games in the past 48 hours. as luck would have it, the problem with the phone line was in the very room that i was in. so, in bursts the phone man, poor me in my pajamas, very uncombed wet hair, playing golf. i said, 'hey.''

and then i left. the men were out of my room for a minute, so i ran down there and got clothes and my hairdryer. and then everything was a little better because i was dressed and my hair looked normal. but there were still a lot of strange men in my house. and my room kind of smells like cigarettes.

work work work work. i organized two racks of swimming trunks today and i felt an enormous sense of achievement. sizes 4-7 are on the top arms and 8-18 are on the lower arms. all of the styles and colors are together, in order from smallest to largest. it is beautiful.

yesterday, though, something strange happened. for some reason i found myself singing my boss's name to the tune of the fred song from 'once upon a mattress.' the girl i was working with stared at me with a look that i thought was kind of blank. so i stammered, "well, see, it's from this musical, and it goes, 'with an f and an r and an e and a d, and an f - r -e - d fred, hey!'" and she said, "yeah, and the princess is running around the stage lifting weights and belching and stuff." whoa. as it turns out, we were both on the stage crews of high school productions of 'once upon a mattress.' you learn something new every day.

chris isaak was on conan o'brien tonight, and he was really really funny. boo berry and tang, two of my favorite things, were some topics of conversation.

and that beer commercial where the bartender goes, 'sorry, we don't serve minors here.' and then you see a group of miners standing there, and one goes, "well, that doesn't seem fair," or something like that. that is the funniest commercial in the entire world.

ah, tv.

12:49 a.m.

previous | next