2001-05-04

today i am a babysitter

I babysat this morning for a couple of hours. Most of the time I just had this five year old boy from down the road. We played Hungry Hungry Hippos for a while (he said, "well, geez-oh-pete, we don't have this game at home "), but most of the marbles we have are too big and get caught in the hippos' necks.

So we went and built things with Legos instead. I found out, however, that a 5-year old has much more tolerance for building and rebuilding very similar looking cars and houses for hours than I do. So I turned to the babysitter's best friend. Yes, the television. We watched a program about a talking train.

Then his sister got home from school and I gave them a snack, and for some reason, they wanted to eat it outside. We were on our way out to the porch and I held the door open for the little boy, but he and I both got distracted by two different things, and I let go of the door before he was out of it. The sound of metal screen door hitting a 5 year old's skull rang throughout the countryside. Then I gave him some goldfish crackers and he stopped screaming. And then, mercifully, their mom came and took them home.

And that was all before 1 pm. Phew. I am a flurry of activity.

My mom has strep throat. So she slept all day and I watched tv, because the weather suddenly decided to be cold again.

And I made asparagus for me for supper.

8:08 p.m.

previous | next