2002-04-27

pink elephants on parade

ok, so i'm at home for a couple of days before spring term starts. . .my official new stance on school during the summer is "summer? heh. i had summer last year."

[for someone who's taking two classes (a whopping total of FIVE credits), i sure am having a big fit over this.]

and the sporadicity (a word, because i, a future linguist, say it is) with which this thing is updated is really kind of ridiculous. i always tell myself i'm going to do this EVERY DAY. and then i get home and there's no computer in the house, and, although i toy with the idea of walking all the way back to campus to update my all-important diaryland diary, i usually end up doing something like playing 105 games of spider solitaire (my paragraph is all mixed up. my school and home selves are at war. . . for the record, since i got home from school on monday, i have played 89 games of spider solitaire. . . and i've won 11.)

anyway, yesterday my mom and i went to the grand rapids ymca white elephant sale. The advertisement for this sale was in the paper FOUR (i really like capitalizing numbers, apparently) times this week and there were TWO articles about the riches that were promised by this yearly event. Also, please note the word "White" in the title.

When we arrived at the sale at 10 o'clock Friday morning, me bleary eyed and hungry from a lack of sleep and breakfast, a 100 ft. inflated elephant greeted us. Please note that he was not at all white. He was, in fact, pink. And the pink elephant balloon was possibly the best part of the entire sale. I bought four records and a book. My mom bought two jars and a sheet of valentines day window clings. we spent $3.50. The used stuff was all kind of gross and the new stuff was all toilets and showers and lumber, none of which we needed. Oh well. I see it as being a warm-up for yard sale season.

i'm going to do this EVERY DAY. this time, i mean it.

10:53 p.m.

previous | next