2002-03-31

the first line of my paper

"The Icelandic sagas are different than all the other forms of literature that existed in medieval Europe. The narrative style is stark and bare, not unlike the Icelandic tundra."

Ah, a gem.

Saw Clinic last night and they played an unsatisfyingly short set. 45 minutes, at the most, in a stuffy basement with the most annoying people in the world.

Not the best show ever, but you can't win them all. I mean, they weren't bad, but it was kind of like listening to a cd in a less pleasant environment than my bedroom. I couldn't actually see the band most of the time (in fact, i couldn't even tell you how many people were in the opening band), which may have had something to do with my overall lack of enjoyment of the show. I don't know. I do have this sort of snobbish tendency to dislike anything that other people do. More than once last night i found myself thinking, "How the hell did these people ever find out about clinic?"

In other saddening news, my sfa are not coming back to detroit and i am not old enough to see them in chicago. sigh. i saw them once, but more than once would be better. rings around the world sparkles. it is nearly the only thing that i've listened to for the past two weeks.

11:54 p.m.

previous | next