2003-03-31

Sonnet envy

So I've got a paper on sonnets due tomorrow (Spenser, Donne and Shakespeare: why choose one when you can research all three?), and I've been doing a lot of internet searching because it's been a long time since I've written about poetry and I wanted to make sure I was correctly identifying sonnet forms and that I was getting the terminology right.

But most of the results I was getting were message boards, things like "I have a paper due tomorrow and I don't know what sonnet x is about."

And I know that I shouldn't be so hard on a mass of complete strangers who are only trying to do as little work as possible (I especially like the ones who just typed in their essay prompt), but really people! I am infuriated enough by the people I know, I don't need the added fury brought on by large, ignorant groups of strangers.

1. Sonnet X is probably about love. Most sonnets are. So if you are stuck, just write something about that.

2. Shakespeare's Sonnet 130 is not about his ugly lover. It is a satire of the cliches found in sonnets at that time.

I hope this is helpful. I would add more but I have to go put magazines away before I can leave.

8:45 p.m.

2003-03-31

At least they aren't (always) boring

[I hate to go on and on about the cream soda that has recently taken over my life, but why is it so good? And it's not even just the two kinds that I bought (neither of which were Faygo which was the kind I really wanted); I strongly believe that all cream soda everywhere has the ability to consume and transform my life. Or something. But on to what I really wanted to write about. . .]

My professors, who are paid lots of money to educate me, have recently been saying some pretty bizarre things, and it has caused me to wonder if my hard-earned tuition money is being spent on booze:

"Nursery rhymes are stupid."

"Excuse my clicks, they ought to be more resonant than that."

On Frankenstein's monster:

"I think the monster needs a name."
"(student)"Al?"
"No, Franz. I call him Franz." (he could've ended this statement with, 'well, duh.')

"To this day, I remember seeing a French movie based on this novel - no such movie exists."

"I don't know if any of you have ever been to Frankenmuth. It's a hideously tasteless place."

"It's not where you get your ideas, it's what you do with them. I don't know why I said that, it just sounded good."

"Have I told you how I hate the young?"

Maybe tomorrow one of them will bring a little something with them to class. I hope so.

2:20 p.m.

2003-03-29

If only I had my own drinking fountain

I am thirsty.

But even if I get up and go downstairs and get water and bring it back up here, I will be thirsty again as soon as that water is gone and my afternoon will be lost in a cycle of going downstairs to get water and then coming back here and drinking it all.

So I guess I'm just going to sit here and be thirsty.

(last night I saw this band at this place. Both are highly recommended.)

4:15 p.m.

2003-03-28

I am homeless beginning April 28

Last night, our house president sent out an email saying that there was only one spot in the house open for spring/summer. Since I like to live on the ragged edge of disaster, I had not yet signed my contract. No problems, I thought, I will sign it tomorrow on my lunchbreak. And I went to sleep.

Today, then, I took a somewhat earlier break than I usually do and left for the ICC office, which is conveniently right next to the library. As I scampered up the sidewalk I noticed a familiar-looking car in the driveway. And getting out of that familiar-looking car was a familiar-looking person. It was one of my housemates.

I realized that this could only mean bad news.

In the end, my housemate got the spot. He is living there next fall (I think), so it really made more sense for him to have it. I am going to go and look at one of the other co-ops this weekend. It was one that I looked at when I first moved into the co-ops, and I think the only reason I didn't end up living there was because they had to go to another house to eat. During the summer there aren't meals anyway, so that isn't really much of an issue.

I've been thinking about looking at some apartment sublets too, but they would be more expensive. After living in a filthy co-op for two years, it seems silly to pay a hundred dollars more just for a clean kitchen.

When I got back to work I was sad, but being a highly superficial person, creme soda and sunchips cheered me right up. Also, the-magus left a comment at my livejournal*, and I enjoy getting random messages from random people.







*I tried to put a guestbook over here yesterday, but signmyguestbook.com stood me up! Yeesh, if you tell a girl you're going to send her a password, you should send her the password, not leave her waiting by her email all day.

1:50 p.m.

2003-03-28

Dreamcatcher and legshaving

All of the terrible things said about Dreamcatcher were true. It did have a couple of redeeming points, though:

Morgan Freeman's eyebrows: (firstly, please forgive me if his eyebrows always look like that and I have never noticed because the movies he was in were actually, you know, good, and I didn't have to study his eyebrows to keep myself awake.) I have two basic rules for eyebrows: (1) they should be two separate entites; and (2) that should not extend more than half an inch above the forehead. These eyebrows towered above his head. Dreamcatcher will live forever in my mind as an ode to the importance of proper eyebrow maintenance.

This line: "They drive Chevrolets. They shop at Wal-Mart. They never miss an episode of Friends. These are Americans." This was supposed to be funny, right? Why was I the only one that laughed? (By the way, by these standards, I am not an American. At all.)

All in all, I did enjoy the movie more than I expected to (although not for any of the reasons that the moviemakers intended), and the fact that my friend who actually wanted to see it liked it even less than I did was the icing on the cake.

Unrelatedly, I often have a problem when shaving my legs. My basic shower/leg shaving routine goes something like this (certain things have been omitted for brevity): shampoo, shave one leg, rinse shampoo, add conditioner, shave the other leg. However, I often forget which leg I shaved first while I am rinsing and conditioning. This morning, though, I discovered a way to remember. The trick is to cut the first leg very, very badly. Then when you go to shave the second you think, "Oh, the leg that is bleeding profusely must be the one that I already shaved." It's foolproof!

10:35 a.m.

2003-03-27

Not my own free will

Tonight I am going to see Dreamcatcher even though everyone and their brother says it is terrible. A friend of mine wants to see it. She doesn't read reviews for fear that they will affect her opinion of the movie.

And, although I do enjoy the occasional bad movie, I prefer to see them for $2 at the cheap theater. This is the price I pay for having friends. At least I know where my student ID is.

7:23 p.m.

2003-03-27

Amoretti

Today I learned from a poem that everyone will die and poetry is the only thing that will live forever.

That is a depressing way to end the week.

I am going to go buy some cream soda.

6:07 p.m.

2003-03-25

I will start a student group

I've just been writing a short paper about African American English, and I've been thinking (which is a handy thing to do while writing a paper): lumping people together into groups like "African American" or "white" is really kind of annoying.

Henceforth, I would like to be referred to as a "Dutch-German-Irish-Mennonite American."

And yes, I know that Mennonite doesn't really fit in there, but I like the way it sounds. So it stays.

11:04 p.m.

2003-03-25

Why now?

When I was in high school, I had the idea to make lots of mixtapes, things with really good songs on, and then to leave them in various places around town. You know, parking lots and public restrooms and grocery stores. That was how I was going to change the world.

I never did it.

9:46 p.m.

2003-03-25

Ugh

There is nothing worse than waking up in the morning, stretching and thinking, "Ah, Saturday," and then realizing a split second later that it's Tuesday.



ps: yes, I do realize that someone who can oversleep until 10:30 and still not be late for anything important does not really have the right to complain about anything.

10:25 a.m.

2003-03-24

You have been warned

So, I just played the Ice World game, and if there is ever another ice age, do not, under any circumstances, follow me. You will die.

ps: yes, I do have homework I should be doing.

11:32 p.m.

2003-03-24

The ice world

When I got home from work a little while ago, I thought I'd enjoy a little of what the cable I'm helping to pay for (but rarely use) has to offer (while eating some very tasty leftovers). So I'm kicked back on the futon, feet on the coffee table, flipping through 100 channels of war footage and reality shows. And where did I stop?

The Ice World.

Oh, Discovery Channel, you knew a tale of ice age humans trekking across Europe would suck me in! You knew that Viking special on the History Channel stole four whole hours of my spring break! Why would you do this to me when all I wanted were some flashing images to entertain me whilst eating?

But the fact that this is what I ended up watching isn't even the worst part. No, the worst part is that the whole time I was thinking about the language. "Hmmm, I wonder if they based this language they used on actual proto-Indo-European. . . is proto-Indo-European even the right langage for this area?. . .oh, a map, yeah, Indo-European should be right. . .anyway, if they were making this show for and English-speaking audience, why not just have these guys speak English so we would know what they're saying? Maybe they thought that people would be uncomfortable if these more animalistic human beings were speaking a familiar language. . ." and so on.

School has ruined me forever.

11:12 p.m.

2003-03-24

Pedestrian bias

I need to start talking to more people while waiting to cross the street

11:31 a.m.

2003-03-23

I am boycotting the Oscars® because The Hot Chick wasn't nominated

Here is a list of Oscar�-nominees I have seen (this list is taken from all of the films present on this list, whether the film itself was nominated, or the actor, or the makeup artist, or whatever.):

About Schmidt
Catch Me If You Can
Spider-Man
Ice Age
Minority Report
8 Mile
Y Tu Mama Tambien (except I had to go to sleep halfway through and haven't been able to get the dvd out of the library again. so I haven't actually seen the whole thing.)

OK, so when I started the list I expected there to be less. But you have to admit that this is pretty pathetic.

9:22 p.m.

2003-03-23

Last nite, she said, man I can't remember that Strokes song from six months ago

Last night we walked to Leopold Brothers twice because I had the presence of mind to forget my wallet (and, therefore, all forms of identification that I have). When we finally got there, it was full (of course) but there were nice big windows and bands are loud and it wasn't cold so we stood and watched and eventually we got in. As it turned out, nobody asked me for my id anyway, which is surprising as I sounded like I'd never ordered a drink before in my life: "Um. . . I'd like. . . .uh, beer please?"

All in all, yes, very good. Very very good. If both Fred Thomas and Pas/Cal are not one day spectacularly famous, there is something terribly wrong with the world.

A personal message to the punk kids:

First the things I like about you:

(1)Your constant pogoing reminded me of the time on Freaks and Geeks when Ken and Daniel went to a punk club, and there are few things I enjoy more than when life imitates television.

(2) Honestly, I can never thank you enough for pushing me into that cute boy (and cute boy, thank you for being such a solid rock and not collapsing to the floor which is what I would've done if you had not been there).

(3) I really think you are some of the nicest people who come to the library to use the internet stations.

But (and you knew this was coming):

Please bathe.

You don't have to every day, but if you're going to a place that'll probably be very crowded, it'd probably be a good idea.

That's all I'm saying.

8:12 p.m.

2003-03-22

Shamrock lights

I almost forgot - the shamrock lights I bought yesterday say this:

WARNING: Handling the coated electrical wire on this product exposes you to lead, a chemical known to the State of California to cause birth defects or other reproductive harm. Wash hands after use.

I don't know about this, but I do know that the lights are really really cool.

9:34 p.m.

2003-03-22

Where I am going

I'm incredibly tired and can think of no better way to spend my evening than crawling into bed and going to sleep. Last night I felt like a total weenie because I went to bed at 3am (after complaining about being tired for four hours), but tonight I see no problems with going to bed at 9.

Well, one problem, I guess, since I made plans to go see Saturday Looks Good to Me and Pas/Cal at Leopold Brothers (holy linkage, Batman!). And while I am sure I will have a good time once I get there, that doesn't change the fact that right now I want to go to bed.

So anyway, it will be a good show. Come buy me a drink. I will be the one with the seamed stockings*.




*outfit subject to change. It's pretty damn cold out there and it's a long walk so the legs may want a little more coverage. I don't know, though. They haven't really told me anything yet.

9:07 p.m.

2003-03-21

What a friend we have in copy and paste

Here is an email that I wrote around noon. This is how I write to my friends, which I'm sure makes many people relieved that I don't consider them friends. Enjoy!

****************************************

well, i meant to bring richard 3 with me, but i forgot it, just as i forgot to bring back the johnny cash album i have out which is already 2 days overdue. which means of course that i have to come all the way back here after i go all the way home, unless i am able to transport these items using the power of my mind.

i wish people would come up to me and say, "hello i am now going to tie up the one and only public internet printer by printing a 60-page pdf file." and i would say, "great!"

i am hungry and of course there were no transportable lunch items in our fridge and j garden sounds bad, for some reason. i probably will end up going there, but it is only because i am too lazy to walk far away to somewhere else. and i don't have time either.

man, i can't believe i forgot richie3. i was thinking about it all morning, how i could just return it after work and it would be really nearby and everything. crap. then i got sidetracked when i realized i had no clothes and i blew a fuse by using my hairdryer with my iron on (i guess), so now everyone else's alarms aren't going to work and they were probably all late for wherever they had to be this morning. hah hah hah. at least i fixed the problem, so all of their clocks will be blinking at them when they finally get their hungover selves out of bed (i don't really know that any of them had been drinking last night, i'm just assuming they are always drunk because i am a kind and generous person*).

anne should be here any minute to give me a break. i can't believe that i get as hungry as i do. maybe if my body would think about eating away excess fat rather than making me eat more, i wouldn't have to take a break at all (and therefore i'd have more bling bling (hah. i do crack myself up. i do.)) and i'd be thinner too, which would work out very well for everyone, i think (except j garden, i guess). besides, what have i been doing all morning that would cause my berry berry cheerios, to be totally wiped out by noon? i've been sitting at a desk! all of the energy i got from that bowl of cereal was used up in digesting it! eating is a totally futile activity.

man, this email is ridiculous.

if i could exert half as much effort in studying as i do in thinking about how hungry i am and why i am so hungry and moving things with my mind and stuff, everyone would call me "brill," which would be short for brilliant.

and i would sign letters like this:

yours truly,

brill





*If any of my housemates should happen to read this, no, I don't actually think you are drunk all the time. This line was included for comic purposes only.

4:10 p.m.

2003-03-20

Fashion consciousness

Even though Ugly Friday is now a thing of the past, there is still quite a lot to be said for my clothes. Take today, for instance. I am wearing blue jeans and a bright yellow t-shirt with a dragon eating ice cream on it. I have augmented this look with a purple hooded sweatshirt and offensive orange sneakers. If you think back to earlier this afternoon when I was walking down the street eating a marvelously green apple, you have a color combination that can't be beat.

8:20 p.m.

2003-03-20

I see France

"What we should've done," my professor said, "is invade France. That would've been easy."

7:08 p.m.

2003-03-20

Pummeled

Last night, during the great dland server shift of 2003, the-ordinary dot diaryland dot com found itself on the 'Browse the Members' page for around six hours. As a result, it received more visitors in those six hours than it usually does in an entire week.

Rest assured that I found this far more hilarious than you do, and spent much of yesterday evening checking my stats every five minutes to find that 10 more people had been bored silly by my drivel about t-shirts and sandwiches.

P.S. Even though I feel obliged to say something regarding current events, I really don't want to. There are many people out there who can write about the situation far more intelligently, so I suggest that you go read them if that's what you're looking for.

3:39 p.m.

2003-03-19

Greetings from Meta-4, part 3

Metaphor and War, Again: who knew that linguistics could actually be used to, like, study current events and stuff? Don't linguists just spend all day discussing what the differences are between 'couch' and 'sofa?'

8:37 p.m.

2003-03-19

Ironic t-shirts about war won't work

A few days ago, a person in the apartment building across from my house put up a 'no war' sign. It was in two parts, though, so for a few minutes it looked like he was putting up a sign that just said 'war.'

It was my idea to make a t-shirt that said 'I'm for War.' "It's ironic," I would explain. "Not in the Alanis Morrisette kinda way, but in the correct one."

Here are the problems with my idea:

(1) If I made a t-shirt that said, 'I'm for War,' no one would take the time to consider that it might be ironic before beating me up. The residents of Ann Arbor would think, "Oh my GOD, that girl must be a CONSERVATIVE, let's hit her with a brick."

(2) If, in some alternate universe, I actually WAS for war and I made a shirt that said, "I'm with G.W." everyone would assume that it actually WAS ironic, have a laugh about my (not that) clever t-shirt and go on with their lives.

So, what is the point of this entry, you ask?

It is that an ironic t-shirt will always work against you. And also that people who are against war are likely to hit girls with bricks.

3:08 p.m.

2003-03-17

Knowing what it is would only be disappointing

There's something about traipsing out into the night to mail a letter to someone who lives about 12 blocks away that makes me feel like a very mysterious person.

But you have to understand - this was not the kind of news that you can just pass along in an email or make a phone call about or even present in an actual real-life conversation.

This was extra-special news.

11:37 p.m.

2003-03-17

Grilled cheese

I just made the most beautiful grilled cheese sandwich. Usually I burn them or try to stick too much cheese in and it oozes out all over everything. But this one is just perfect.

It seems a shame to eat it, but that is exactly what I am doing. I can't say that I am a big fan of the kind of bread I used, but it is a pretty sandwich, nonetheless.

10:13 p.m.

2003-03-17

Mmmm

Breakfast on the porch in March.

10:59 a.m.

2003-03-16

Eminem in church

Much earlier today I heard an Eminem song at church. It was part of a "Hey! We're hip!" video montage that was describing their mission work. I reddened (because I recognized and figured that that was how they were going to pick out sinners) and wondered how many people were able to recognize it was an Eminem song. Since it was that song from 8 Mile,* I figured many people must've heard it in advertisements on the teevee and I wondered why more people weren't storming out.

Sadly, as hip and happening as their missions are, they weren't gutsy enough to actually leave the lyrics in. Now that would've been something to see.





*please note that while I know very well that the song is called "Lose Yourself," I still refer to it as "the song from 8 Mile. Because I would never take the time to learn the title of 'that song from 8 Mile. I wouldn't download it either.

Nope.

Not me.

Never.

8:29 p.m.

2003-03-16

If Christopher Marlowe liked indie rock. . .

Well, the parents' computer is back to working as well as it ever did, and that gives me time to do things like this:

*




*inspired by both watching Shakespeare in Love this afternoon and reading The Tragical History of Dr. Faustus for medieval/renaissance lit.

1:10 a.m.

2003-03-15

Download

I was hoping that when I got here, my parents would say something like, "Surprise, Kim! There are no computer problems - and we got you a kitten!" But there are computer problems, computer problems that require massive downloads on a 52K connection. So for now I'm kicked back with some dvds, snackies and many cans of diet Mountain Dew. And after 45 minutes, I'm only up to 7.4MB of 22.7MB.

Yikes.

Wish me luck.

12:18 p.m.

2003-03-14

A long entry about carpet

Now seems about a good a time as any to write about the big carpet controversy that is going on at my house right now.

We're getting new carpet for our staircases and upstairs hallways. This is terrific news, of course, since the carpet that's in there now is disgusting and probably hasn't been changed since the house became a co-op (and co-opers are a filthy bunch). However, getting new carpets means that we have to vote to pick out the color.

First of all, all of the colors we have to pick from are ugly, which is due to the fact that they are probably the cheapest selections available. Most of them are the speckled kind that are meant to hide dirt, and while that may work fine for carpet that would actually be vaccumed once in a while, this carpet will acquire more dirt than any amount of speckling could ever be expected to hide. Second of all, some people apparently really really care about the color of their carpet.

Fiesta showed an early lead. Fiesta is a very beautiful bright red, without too much of the speckling that is present in all of the others. However, many housemembers showed violent opposition to having red carpet and began a vote for Aztec, a bluish color (I hesitate to say blue because of the speckling. It is sort of the color of blue fishtank gravel - yes, some blue is present, but there is also grey, brown, tan, very pale green, and white - actually, pretty much every unattractive color imaginable is present). Aztec has now pulled into the lead, and even the founder of the Fiesta movement switched sides, figuring that since she wasn't going to be living in the house much longer she shouldn't vote for the color that everyone hated.

I will not be living in the house that much longer either, but I will not be changing my vote for Fiesta. I won't be devastated when it loses, although I do feel a twinge of sadness for the futures of my housemates. I will probably live in a house with red carpeting someday. They, however, are not even adventurous enough to get red carpet while they are living in a co-op, which means that they are doomed to spend the rest of their lives in houses with extremely dull carpeting.

11:39 a.m.

2003-03-14

On the road again

I may have to go home this weekend to help my parents fix something on their computer. This makes me a little sad because I was still entertaining thoughts of going to see the Folk Implosion on Friday. It also means that I won't be able to see Willard, or to hole up in the basement and watch many dvds.

However, they are my parents and therefore responsible for my being here at all. And they are the very last two people on earth that think I can help them with things like this. They sure will be disappointed when I get home and am able to do nothing except eat all of their food.

1:02 a.m.

2003-03-13

Yesterday

Yesterday was such a disgustingly good day that I'm not entirely sure that I should write about it. Happy occurrences in video stores, slippery sidewalks and watching a movie with someone I don't see as often as I should, and finally arriving home to messages that everyone's day was as good as mine was. It doesn't happen often.

I woke up at about 4:30 this morning to a blizzard that was orange from the streetlights. I sleepily wondered if the lights were always that bright or if they had been turned up so everyone would notice that it was snowing.

11:27 a.m.

2003-03-11

I have written about them for a long time

Oh.My.God.

A new Super Furry Animals album in July (!!!in the United States!!!) is just too much to hope for. I'm so excited that my stomach hurts (although, admittedly, that could have something to do with the fact that I haven't eaten since sometime yesterday).

But, looking at this from a slightly more more cynical (and therefore, more typical for me) viewpoint, Pitchfork has let me down before, so perhaps it is best not to count those chickens before they're hatched. Or to put all of my eggs in one basket. Or to leap before I look. Or to do any of a number of other cliches.

11:01 a.m.

2003-03-10

Me and Junkbot

I would like you to meet a new friend of mine.This is the Lego Junkbot. He and his game kept me company while I was at work tonight, and since I have gotten home, he and I have had a few drinks (of diet cola) and continued the quest to empty all of those recycling bins. However, homework calls, so he and I are going to say our farewells and I am going to go curl up in bed with Dr. Faustus (which definitely sounds like a good time).

11:27 p.m.

2003-03-10

Ice Age

There are large patches of ice that cover some of the sidewalks that I have to walk on every day. I am not a graceful person. Therefore, if you see me on campus and I look like I am practicing the big finale from my new vaudeville show, it probably means that I am about to fall down. Please call 911 if I hit my head.

2:39 p.m.

2003-03-09

htmhell

So, I got it into my head tonight to change my layout. What could possible be better to do on a particularly homework-laden night, right?

Yikes, though. Spending a couple of hours turning the-ordinary dot diaryland dot com all the colors of the technicolor dreamcoat (I sincerely apologize to anyone who might have seen it during it's jaundiced yellow and brown phase), being unable to loginto the site every five minutes, having 15 browser windows opened up at one point, and finally feeling like a dreadfully incompetent person who can't just change her stupid online diary background to purple instead of grey, I gave up and did three things:

(1) bought a gold membership

(2) got a layout made by someone who I'm sure is a very lovely young lady, if only because she only asks for a link in return. and yes, I'd rather it was purple instead of blue, but at this point in the evening I'm opting just to squint at it and say, "Well, from this angle it looks sort of lavenderish. . ."

(3) hoped that at some point, my older pages will begin to look like my newer ones, but at this point I'm not really equipped to do anything to them to make them change. I am leaving their decisions to conform or not to conform totally up to them. I hope that they will make the right choices.

I'm really excited about my gold membership because of the three extra tags I get to use. The "listening to" tag was one thing that I really REALLY liked at livejournal (in all of my three entries there), so I'm using that for one of them, and so far I've come up with the following for the rest of the possibilities:

how many facial blemishes do I have today?
what color are my socks?
where am i?
how many cans of diet pop have a i drank today?
weather
should I be writing a paper right now?
reading
on a scale of 1 (least) to 10, this is how angry I am at the world right now
a lyric from what I'm listening to

Any better ideas can be directed to me here.

11:18 p.m.

2003-03-07

Hamtramck

Hamtramck is a lovely place and all, and I saw a lot of it last night when each and every Hamtramck Blowout venue we tried to get into was full.

The night's dialogue between bouncers and me went as followed:

"Do you girls have wristbands?"

"No."

"I can't let you in. We're at capacity."

And I always wondered if somehow they could let us into an overcapacity venue if we did have wristbands.

Once, we actually got past the outer door into the bar, but we couldn't get into the room where the actual bands were because, even though the outside man let us in because some people had come out, the inner money-taking people said the place was full. So we stood in the bar for a a little while, trying to look hip, but everyone else looked hipper so we gave up and went home.

All that being said, though, we may give it another try tonight. Either that or I will spend a lonely Friday night with the teevee.

8:37 p.m.

2003-03-06

Reason #4,142

The truth can be found here.

10:02 a.m.

2003-03-05

Taste the rainbow

So, you've been eating Skittles� all your life, and then one night you're eating them at a mid-rate community theater production with your mom and she says, "I really like the green ones," and you agree. She says, "What are they, green apple?" and you start to say something about how they're lime, but then you stop and realize that they don't taste like lime at all and your whole life you've just thought they're lime-flavored because they are green.

It really makes you think.

4:10 p.m.

2003-03-05

Chai and elephant pee: a winning combination

I was Kimberly M. Superstudent for about 20 minutes after finishing my Gulliver paper in two hours (still has to be edited, but it's not too bad so that shouldn't take long). However, upon arriving home after searching the city for decent chai (I walked past four coffee shops to get to the one that has the best chai and then they were all out), I arrived home to find out that I may not be going to Blowout this weekend (due to the fact that I would be going all by my lonesome). And although it is not anyone's fault, it does tend to suck when the light at the end of your tunnel is peed on by a elephant or something and you're left with a bad week followed by a boring weekend. Oh well.

12:35 a.m.

2003-03-04

Vive le Hamtramck

Just once I'd like to finish a paper (or other school project) and think, "Wow. That is undoubtedly the best possible work I could have done," rather than, "Done with 20 minutes to spare? I totally rule!"

Really, the last semester of school should be totally disregarded by the people who care about these things. Grad schools should look at your transcript and say, "Well, sure, maybe you didn't do so well in that sociolingistics class, but it was your last semester and, like, you didn't want to work! You're not a bad student, just a lazy one, which is understandable after 16 straight years of school." Because formerly I've done pretty well, and I don't think it's fair that one off semester might negatively affect my future.

After my paper about Gulliver's Travels is handed in tomorrow it is weeeeeeeeekend all the way. And this particular weekend means the Hamtramck Blowout, making it an even more exciting prospect than most weekends.

1:58 p.m.

2003-03-03

Getting hyped up about variationist research

I hate that little voice in my head that says things like, "Hey, remember that paper you have that's due tomorrow? Don't you think you should be working on it right about now?"

I'm going to tie it up throw it in the closet.

And sure, maybe I should be working on it, but there are important questions to ask in this situation:

how did two of my professors independently come up with the idea that assigning papers for the week after spring break was a good idea?

and, perhaps even more importantly

why do my slippers smell so bad?

Also, a note to all the springbreakers:

The tan might have seemed like a good idea while you were laying on the beach in Cancun, but now that you've arrived back in the great white north, you look like freaks. Three cheers for the Dutchness of my ancestors and the pasty-white skin they passed on to me!

11:10 p.m.

2003-03-02

More than green beer

Tonight I had a shamrock shake from McDonald's. Shamrock shakes have previously been my favorite thing about St. Patrick's day, but this year they've been pushed to third. And yes, I know that shamrock shakes are just green sludge, or whatever McDonald's makes their shakes from, but they are nevertheless very tasty.

Here are my two favorite things about St. Patrick's day (in order):

(2) Those glasses at Meijer that I'm going to buy on March 18 when they are half price

and

(1) The fact that it gives me even more opportunities to tell everyone that I am descended from Irish pirates (a little known fact, since I made it up a few months ago).

Spring break ends tomorrow. . .I am either happy or sad about this, but I can't really tell which it is.

1:27 a.m.

previous | next