01-31-04

Maybe the last entry about [male housemate]. Maybe.

[male housemate] is now entirely moved out. I mean, except for all of the garbage he left in the living room and dining room. Just because he no longer lives here doesn't mean that we should have to stop cleaning up after him. Oh, and he didn't pay his share of the cable/internet bill for January, either. However, he did leave a spoon, butter knife and two small tubs of I Can't Believe It's Not Butter! So there!

Also, the other day he was packing and he asked me if we had paid the other female housemate (who moved out in December) for the router. Since I didn't know it was hers and she had never asked me for any money, I hadn't. I told him we had our own router anyway, so we could just use that rather than paying him for that one (because, in any case, I wasn't going to give him money for something that wasn't his. i'm sure he wouldn't have passed the money on to the other female housemate, and i don't know why he took the router when it wasn't his anyway). I was in the kitchen and I heard him in the dining room unplugging a bunch of things, and then he went downstairs and I went to the dining room to make sure that he hadn't taken anything of ours. He had taken away the modem. When he came back upstairs, I told him his mistake, in a way that I hoped would infer that even a penguin would know the difference between a modem and a router. He briefly tried to claim that the modem was indeed the router, but had to eventually back down due to the fact that I provided quite compelling evidence to the contrary. He then threw the modem on the table, leaving it all sadly unplugged from all of the various things that it needs to be plugged into. But that wasn't really that surprising, because history has proven that he is a fragile flower that should not be expected to do things that might involve him possibly breaking a nail.

Now I can't get the new/old hand-me-down router to work. Well, my computer works fine, but I can't seem to get my roommate's computer to do anything but freeze up repeatedly, and eventually she will be mad about this and will stop paying her share of the bill, and we can't have that. I am supposed to be working on fixing it today, but for the last 20 minutes I've mostly just been sitting here thinking about how, when I got my wireless ethernet card two years ago, (former housemate) Arthur looked at my computer for 2.5 minutes and then I had the internet! I've been trying to make myself feel better by telling myself that if the problem involved diagramming sentences, I'd have had everything wrapped up hours ago. That doesn't really help.


np: Pas/Cal-I Wanna Take You Out in Your Holiday Sweater

2:21 p.m.

01-30-04

Dont you have a job anymore?

Today we were on our way to the humane society when I realized that my car was painfully low on gas. The gas on the way to the humane society, though, was all right around $1.75 a gallon, so we decided to go to Ypsilanti for lunch after we petted cats. Gas in Ypsilanti is usally cheaper, and if we were going for lunch then we weren't just driving down there to get gas (and besides, going to the humane society is really getting to be a dull chore, (i am not sure why. the cats and dogs are all still cute, they just smell bad and live in dirty little cages and today three cats bit me! three!), so it helps to have some kind of reward afterwards).

And we certainly did find cheaper gas in Ypsi! And do you know what else we found? An old Chuck Wagon Gang tape for my dad at Value World (where they also had a mug with asparagus on it that I really really liked, but couldn't afford. i paid for the tape with nickels and pennies.)! See, we were driving home through Kentucky, and we were up on a mountain somewhere and my dad was listening to AM radio and he said, "This sounds like the Chuck Wagon Gang! I used to listen to them all the time when I was little!" and the song turned out to indeed be the Chuck Wagon Gang. I like to get my dad things that remind him of his youth. Once I got him a case of Country Corn Flakes for Christmas. He couldn't find it in any stores, but they had little tiny boxes of it at Big Boy and he would talk about how he always had a bowl of them before he went out to milk cows at 5:30 in the morning.

Anyway, buying things for others is all well and good, but greedily buying things for yourself is WAY better. Which is why I bought a little stuffed Creature from the Black Lagoon at the dollar store.

He was worth every penny.


np: Sufjan Stevens-Detroit, Lift Up Your Weary Head (Rebuild! Restore! Reconsider!)

8:10 p.m.

01-29-04

It will be my own private joke all day.

Dear world,

Today I am wearing a pair of men's grey corduroy pants that I bought at a thrift store while I was in high school. They are too short (in fact, these are the only pants I have ever found that are too short for me) and I can see more of the tops of my shoes than I am accustomed to seeing. The zipper is broken and there is a tag on the back pocket that says, "Big Yank."

Yours in fashion,

Kim.


np: work

1:30 p.m.

01-28-04

emergency

On my walk to work just now I saw a fire truck almost hit an ambulance! The fire truck was headed south and the ambulance was on an intersecting street headed east, their sirens were both blaring and echoing off the buildings so that you couldn't reallly tell where they were coming from, and if that SUV that was in front of the fire truck had pulled over to the side of the road and stopped like it was supposed to, there would have been a massive emergency vehicle pileup when they both reached the intersection at EXACTLY THE SAME TIME!

I'm probably way more excited about this than I should be. It's just that it's so sunny outside today. And also, before the fire truck/ambulance drama, I saw a car getting towed, and nothing cheers me up more than the misfortunes of others.


np: work

1:11 p.m.

01-27-04

Do you know who you look like? Diamond!

Tonight I worked with a new technohost who had the worst first day ever. Everything went wrong (of course, the whole time the computers were exploding, I was at the desk reading the latest issues of Bust, Jane and Spin*) Also, he looked like one of my former housemates, and he seemed to know my name without me ever introducing myself.

And then there was a little girl who was cute and all, but I don't really see the library as a place where children should just be allowed to run free. She kept asking me my name and asking me for paper and once she told me I smelled good (which caused me to think very highly of her), but then five minutes later she told me I looked like her aunt's dog (she stuck a sticker on my shoulder and then said that I looked like Diamond. I asked her who Diamond was. And of course it had to be the dog.) I was happy when she left.

On the way home, I stepped in a sidwalk pothole that was disguised by snow and fell down with much grace.





*you KNOW i'm kidding. i am a team player. except that i really did read the latest issue of spin tonight, which is something that fills me with great shame.


np: Enon-World in a Jar

9:25 p.m.

01-26-04

oooh! the outline?!

Oh yes, and today the new Michigan quarter came out. It's really boring.


np: Saturday Looks Good to Me-Meet Me By the Water

6:15 p.m.

01-26-04

the BEST NEWS EVER!!!

It is official: [male housemate] is moving out.


np: yay.

5:27 p.m.

01-26-04

I think it stopped snowing. Or maybe not. It is hard to tell from here.

People keep calling and asking me things that I have no clue about. I've been transferring calls like a pro, although I am not always sure that I am transferring them to the proper parties. Also, I am cold and hungry and a cute boy just handed in a job application (and oh my gosh do I ever hope he gets that job).

um.

Last night I almost went to see Eleni Mandell at the Lager House, but it was cold and I didn't feel like driving to Detroit. Besides, if I hold out for about another week, the first show of the year will be sfa, which is sure to bring happiness and good karma to the rest of the year. Yes, I am starting the year off right, even if I am starting it in February.


np: work

2:12 p.m.

01-25-04

Verbing weirds language.

I wrote a paper about this subject once. And we used to talk and talk and talk in my metaphor class, arguing things like, "YOU CAN'T VERB THAT WORD!" except there really isn't any good rule about which words can be verbs and which can't, so it's all just based on how you feel about it. And after you spend a long time writing a 15 page paper about it, you kind of lose the ability to differentiate between which words are acceptable verbs and which aren't. Then you might accidentally say something about how you need to broom your room, and people will ridicule you (but the joke is on them, because, since mop is both a verb and a noun, so there is no logical reason why broom can only be a noun).

Also, last night I went to see Stuck On You at the cheap theater and I took my own beverage, and the staff made us wait outside the room for a long time while they were cleaning it, which prompted the inevitable question, "They actually clean these theaters?" because that isn't usually terribly obvious. For three dollars, though, we are willing to put up with filth.

Anyway, if there is better way to spend a night than enjoying trash cinema accompanied by a bottle of Faygo diet Cherry Berry*, then I haven't found it.





*I can never move away from this area of the country because the idea of living life without Faygo's sodas of many colors is absolutely unthinkable to me.


np: Sufjan Stevens-Holland

1:41 p.m.

01-23-04

And then I walked home from work.

The snow is outstandingly sparkly tonight. Even the snow on the street that is gray and slushy from being driven on is sparkling.

I think there is a life lesson of some kind that can be taken away from this, but I'm not really suited to figuring things like that out.


np: the Shins-Saint Simon

9:24 p.m.

01-23-04

Nature is gruesome.

So, last night I watched disc 1 of The Blue Planet series. I'm a huge nature documentary nerd, and you can always tell when I've recently watched them because I go around saying things like, "Did you know that the blue whale's heart is the size of a car? And you could swim in some of its blood vessels! I mean, assuming you wanted to swim in blood!" (just as a point of reference, my usual conversation is more along the lines of "Brr!" and "I don't have enough money for that.")

This particular documentary, though, had a lot of very conflicting animal violence in it. There was a baby polar bear that was going to DIE if it didn't get food soon, and I didn't want that baby polar bear to die. On the other hand, I didn't want its mom to kill a baby seal so the baby polar bear could eat it. It was a problem.

And don't even get me started on that nasty gang of orcas who killed that baby gray whale. Jerks.





ps: Send your name to a comet! Now!


np: still work

8:06 p.m.

01-23-04

The dickens, you say.

Somebody just called me and asked, "Do you have a copy of uh. . .twin cities. . .um. . .Dickens. . .er. . ." and then I said, "A Tale of Two Cities?" And she said, "That's it!"

Relatedly, did you know that I have never read a novel by Charles Dickens? It is something that I am quite proud of.

And I do realize that it sounds a little stupid to be so proud of not reading something, but I was an English major, and I never once read any Dickens! Or Austen! Or the Bront� sisters*! And probably lots of other things that are very famous and classic, but I can't remember what they are called or who wrote them because I never read them! And being an English major and successfully avoiding so much English literature is truly an accomplishment.





*I read Jane Eyre in high school, but it was in high school, so it doesn't really count.


np: work

5:30 p.m.

01-23-04

Can't tell the night from the day.

I had been feeling kind of depressed for the past week. I mean, just sort of generally sad and hopeless and teary all the time. Much of my abundant free time was spent wrapped up in a blanket listening to The Dismemberment Plan is Terrified on headphones. I mean, I just felt bad. And I guess I didn't really think about it, because it somehow seems excusable to feel that way in the middle of winter.

Then today I suddenly realized that I feel better. Like, 100% back to normal (which, for me, isn't cheery, exactly, but it is still much better than before).

I have no idea why I suddenly felt so much better, and I've been trying and trying to figure it out. Because an inexplicable bad mood is fine, but I have to find some way to validate a good mood, because otherwise it just means that I've totally lost it.


np: the Velvet Underground-Oh! Sweet Nuthin'

1:23 a.m.

01-22-04

Ache.

Today I remembered why I stopped taking too much excedrin (as in, more than the bottle recommends, but this was no normal headache and i wanted that it gone asap!) on too empty of a stomach (apparently a bowl of cereal at 10 am isn't sufficient nourishment for the whole day. who knew?). I had a meeting after work and I stood around feeling all nauseous and light-headed, but then about halfway through I snagged a slice of pizza and sat down, which solved all of my immediate problems. I mean, except for the problem of actually being at the meeting (which, as far as work meetings go, wasn't that bad at all).


np: jeopardy

7:22 p.m.

01-22-04

Cross your fingers

There is a woman coming to look at the vacant room in my house this afternoon (the other female housemate moved out at the end of December). She is older, married, works at the hospital, and wants a place to sleep five nights a week.

But that is not what is important. What IS important is that herr landlord said that if this woman takes the room, he is going to kick [male housemate] out!

See, this week [male housemate] has sunk to new lows of name-calling (and possible sexual harrassment!), and herr landlord had a talk with him about these things, informing him that he would have to leave if this behavior continues. [male housemate] replied that new places to live aren't that hard to find, and herr landlord told him that there was nothing stopping him from leaving. So, we are all (herr landlord included) hoping that he takes this opportunity to get out of his lease (or that that woman moves in so that he can be evicted!), even if it does mean that we will have to split our cable bill between only two people*.





*But, honestly, I am willing to pay any price for the high-quality programming that cable provides me with. Last night I watched a show about people hunting for Bigfoot. They didn't find him, but they did hear some very distincitive chest beating in response to a howling coyote. And honestly, isn't the sound of possible chest-beating enough proof of the existence of Bigfoot for anyone?


np: work

4:22 p.m.

01-21-04

the school of too much information. heh.

I wish the u.m. school of information would leave me alone. I requested information about the school and since then I have received:

[This is compared to one folder of information from Wayne State and a single sheet of paper from the University of Chicago telling me that everything I need to know is online and I should just look there.]

And, you know, I never really had any intention of going to um again (although, honestly, I had no intention of going there for the whole undergraduate thing either. One day I was sitting in my high school guidance counselor's office and he said, "Have you thought about u of m?" and I said, "No," and then I just filled out the form because I really didn't care and didn't want to think about it.). I just wanted to get some mail. I guess I was successful.


np: the Dismemberment Plan-Respect is Due

7:26 p.m.

01-21-04

I slip on it every time.

I don't know about you, but I find it a little odd that the dental hygienist that I see once every six months can remember exactly where I live and what I studied and where I work. And sadly, after those three topics are taken out of the repertoire, I am left with pretty much nothing I can make small talk about. I settled on saying rude things about Ohio (hey, she started it) and talking about my trip to South Carolina (which had to appear in a sadly unembellished form, since my parents go to the same dentist).

When the dentist came into the room, he thanked me profusely for allowing him to look at my teeth, which is something he does every time I am there. He also said complimentary things about my gums, and I thought briefly, "Maybe this guy isn't a dentist at all. Maybe he is some weird tooth pervert. Have I ever seen his degree?" which is something I think every time I am there, because no one should be quite that excited about someone else's teeth.

But what I really really wanted to tell you about was my new toothbrush. It is decidedly more high-tech than toothbrushes my dentist has formerly handed out. It has a rubbery handle to prevent droppage*, those criss-cross bristles that get longer in the front so that they reach all the way over the back of your farthest back teeth**, and the handle is emblazoned with the word "Quantum," which is exactly what a toothbrush like this should be named. If I saw this toothbrush in the store I would think, "Well, that is out of my price range," and I would move on down the aisle until I found the 87 cent Meijer brand ones.

I previously received Plak Smacker brand toothbrushes at the dentist which, when compared to my Quantum, were nothing very special. They did, however, have a very cute little mascot, and since I don't trust a single one of you to click on that link, here it is:





*I formerly had a big problem with toothbrush-dropping. About once a week in the co-op I would lose my grip, and my toothbrush would bounce around on the floor for a while and when I finally got it back under control, it would be all full of other people's hair and I'd have to throw it away. It was costing me a fortune!

**the awkwardness of this description makes me ashamed to be an English major. I mean, I'm always a little ashamed of being an English major, but there are moments that are worse than others.


np: the Dismemberment Plan-The Ice of Boston

2:04 a.m.

01-16-04

lrrrr is how i feel. i mean that.

Last night I watched Bend It Like Beckham. It was such a feel-good movie that, after it was over, I actually felt worse than I had before I watched it.

Today, I am going to my parents' house after work. I know I'm there a lot, but there are so many things that I have to worry about here that I don't have to there (most of them being the same old roommate woes that I always have).

Also, the following things all contributed to the decision to leave for the weekend:

1. it is my mom's birthday today (although people who have birthdays this close to Christmas should really be forced to choose a day during the summer in which to celebrate. that is what i am going to tell her when i show up without a present, card or well-wishes of any kind.)

2. I have a four day weekend (monday is mlk day and then tuesday i just don't have to work for some reason)

3. I have a dentist appointment on Tuesday (this is directly related to item #2, since the only reason i have a dentist appointment on tuesday is because of the four day weekend. my dentist isn't open on weekends, which is usually the only time that i would be able to go see my dentist, because he lives across the state like my parents do. when i went to school, it seemed like more trouble than it was worth to change dentists, since i usually only have to go twice a year.)

4. I need to do laundry (i haven't done laundry at my house since mid-november, which is something that I am very proud of)

5. there's nothing to do here (of course, there's nothing to do there either.)

And, while I always enjoy my solo drives across the state, this one will be made even more enjoyable by the fact that I received a portable cd player that is capable of playing mp3 cds for Christmas (to replace the one that was stolen when my car was broken into), and last night I burned thirty of my very favorite albums onto a single cd.

I can't leave, though, until I shovel the sidewalk, because there was a notice in our door this morning about how if we don't do it before tomorrow, the city is going to send someone out to break our legs. Actually, that is not what it said at all, but I think I would rather have my legs broken than pay a fine, because I need my money for many things, and I only need my legs for one thing.


np: work

2:26 p.m.

01-13-04

The pizza is finally here.

I called my parents and after he delivered some alarming news (I can't possibly owe the university $3000, can I? It must be a mistake, mustn't it?) my dad said, "Hey, did you know that the Super Furry Animals are going to be down there next month? It's at Saint Anthony's."

And my first reaction was, "On February 4. It's a Wednesday. Tickets are fifteen dollars," but instead I said, "Uh yeah. But how did YOU know that?"

And I think we all know the answer. It is because my dad is a hip and happening kind of guy. He does need to remember, though, that the venue is called Saint Andrew's Hall, not Saint Anthony's.

The first indie rock show I ever went to ever was at Saint Andrew's Hall. My dad had to drive me 150 miles across the state to it, which is why he (sort of) knows the name. My dad is a good guy.


np: Queen-I'm in Love With My Car

10:43 p.m.

01-12-04

Reading pretty books is just easier than reading ugly ones.

Someone just came up to my desk and said, "I'm looking for a book that's interesting." Then there were several moments of silence, because I foolishly thought that she was going to elaborate a bit. I ended up telling her to maybe look in the paperback mysteries section. Because who doesn't like trashy mystery novels?

[If you do not like trashy mystery novels, please do not tell me about it, because (1) you are probably lying; and (2) i will feel bad about not being more helpful towards library patrons with no idea about what they want.]

Also, do you think that science fiction authors/publishers/whoever decides on the cover artwork for books ever take the time to consider that I would be far more likely to read their books if the covers weren't so ugly? No. I don't believe that scifi authors/publishers/whoever decides on the cover artwork for books ever think about me at all.


np: work

6:48 p.m.

01-12-04

Boring post office entry

The thing about going to the post office before work is that the earlier you get there, the longer the line will be.

So, say you have to be at work at 5pm, and you arrive at the post office at 4:30pm. You will end up leaving the post office at the same time you left the post office last week (4:50pm), but last week you didn't arrive at the post office until 4:45pm.

Following this logic, next time I have to go to the post office before work, I will get there at 4:58 and there will be no line at all. (And I will still be on time for work, because the post office is right across the street from the library.)


np: work

5:23 p.m.

01-11-04

Who put these fingerprints on my imagination?

Last night I went to see Big Fish, and everyone cried except me, because I haven't ever cried during a movie and don't ever really expect to, because I can never quite get past the fact that it's fiction. And while movies can make me sad or happy or whatever, they only make me sad within the context of the situation. Kim (the movie-watcher) is sad. Kim (the person) is still the same as she was before she entered the theater. And since Kim (the movie-watcher) isn't a real person, it is impossible for a movie to elicit a physical response from her.

In other news, I had every intention of getting up and going to church this morning. This isn't because I have found religion, but because I realized over Christmas that I want to be closer to my family (the extended version)*. And there are two Mennonite churches here, so it seemed like as good a place as any to start. I didn't go, though, because I overslept and when I finally woke up, blood was pouring out of my uterus and I just couldn't convince myself that getting out of bed was worth it.





*And because I had gone to church for the last three consecutive weeks** and wanted to make it a record FOUR WEEKS IN A ROW!!!***

**Once to the conservative Mennonite one and twice to the huge non-denominational one that my parents go to. Both had their pros and cons. I did not enjoy the ridiculous sermon at the Mennonite one, but I liked the songs because they were just normal hymns. The non-denom has a really interesting and engaging preacher**** , but they sing all of these new-fangled worship songs and have a band and stuff. Which I don't like.

***Which is a lie, because I went to church for 16 years before our church closed due to everyone being mad at everyone else. And the only other Mennonite church around was the one that our church had split away from 17 years before because they (the founders of 'my' church) thought it was too strict (ie, they wanted television sets and stereos and the freedom to listen to inoffensive soft rock music!). So then we started going to other churches, but someone had to stay home with my brother every other week (because, after twenty years of making no sounds except the occasional sneeze or that strangled gasp he makes during seizures), he suddenly started making loud noises that sounded like, "EEEEE!" so we couldn't take him to church. He still sometimes makes those noises.

****The thing about this is, anyone can be talking about anything, and it can still be interesting. You don't have to take everything as the absolute truth of the matter (and you shouldn't).

For example, once one of my professors told us that he believed that Edward Prendick (from The Island of Dr. Moreau) ate the other people on his lifeboat. His proof of this was that Prendick says that the other two people in the boat got into a fight, fell overboard and "sank like stones." Human bodies would float on the ocean, so my professor's theory was that he ate his shipmates and doesn't report it to the reader (Prendick is the narrator of the book) because he doesn't want the reader to consider him a monster. His cannibalism occurs between paragraphs and the reader continues to see him as the hero. The thing is, though, is that it is a book, and characters in a book don't have outside lives. They only exist within the actual words of the book. And while certain characteristics of a fictional character might only be alluded to, three words is not an allusion. But that is just what I think.

I think the point of all that was that even though I found his theory to be ridiculous, it was still interesting enough that I remember it three years later.


np: Elvis Costello-Green Shirt (demo)

3:39 p.m.

01-09-04

Worky

The library is having a writing contest for teenagers entitled "Its All Write."

And while I wholeheartedly approve of the pun (as I approve of all horrible puns everywhere*), I do not approve of the incorrect form of 'it' in the title, even though three years of linguistics classes have made me not care about grammar one way or the other (because the grammar isn't what's important). A library website for a writing contest should be correct. It just should.

(The website is: http://www.aadl.org/eventsearch?ID=2943, which I am not going to link to because it seems foolhardy to link to the website of my place of employment to poke fun at their grammatical errors, especially while I am at work.)

(And for the record, I am also not a fan of how the colon is outside of the quote marks and how there are no spaces between the colon and the following letter.)

Also, I must say, that even though a million people as me questions like, "Where are the DVDs?" (the DVDs are about 10 ft behind and slightly to the right of them while they are asking me this), and even though they say "The catalog says this [book/dvd/cd] is available, but I can't find it" (when the catalog clearly states that the item is in storage), the fiction/media desk is still my favorite of the three information desks that I work at.





*Remember last month when i couldn't remember what Meijer-brand 'I Can't Believe It's Not Butter!" was called? Since then, I have discovered that it is called "No Ifs, Ands or Butter," which makes me very, very happy.


np: work

2:20 p.m.

01-08-04

B movie

I had the worst headache I have ever had in my life last night. It was the kind of headache you have right before an alien life form that has been incubating inside your body and living off of your precious bodily fluids suddenly bursts out of your skull and wreaks havoc on the unsuspecting world.


np: the simpsons

10:43 a.m.

01-06-04

I won a poster on eBay so I will ramble about it just for you.

I won this poster today while I was at work*. At first I was really excited because (1) it's an awfully nice poster, with those oranges and those greens and stripes and stuff; and (2) I always feel triumphant and pleased with myself after I win something on eBay. But now I feel sad because I paid more for it than I normally would pay for a poster and I'm afraid that when I get it , it will be disappointingly small and insignificant (when compared to the price). And also, this is the Ted Leo poster that I originally wanted so much, but I hadn't seen one for so long that I finally just gave up (and one appeared today not long after I won the other one).

Actually, I'm not sure why I bothered typing all of that, because I really do prefer the green and orange one over the soccer one, and as long as it is not the size of a post card, I'm sure we will be very happy.





*I managed to get a lot of things done while I was at work including, but not limited to: arranging plans for dinner; close monitoring of ebay auction to ensure that the poster was mine; checking to see where I am on the library request list for Speakerboxxx/The Love Below (i'm next!); looking up a grammar rule for a friend's resume; eating a delicious lemon bar; making a grocery list; doing actual work related to my job (directing people to their books; withdrawing about a million books with topics ranging from literary criticism to guides for better sex).


np: Ted Leo and the Pharmacists-The Gold Finch and the Red Oak Tree

9:37 p.m.

01-06-04

A lesson learned too late

It is deceptively warm-looking outside today.

Seeing the sun in the sky always fools me into thinking it might not be so cold. But as I walked underneath the bank clock, it proclaimed that it was 13 degrees.

And 13 degrees is too cold to wear a skirt, which is why the heater under my desk is on. Hopefully my legs will be back to at least room temperature soon.


np: work

1:09 p.m.

01-05-04

Ice and snow

We had a winter storm warning yesterday, but I didn't let slippery roads and poor visibility stop me from getting into my car and driving 150 miles. I saw at least 25 cars in the ditch.

My dad had told me that the roads would probably be better Sunday afternoon than Monday morning (which is when I was thinking of leaving), so he sent me on my way, saying, "If you go in the ditch, just call someone. Don't get out of your car. . .unless it's upside-down." It is one of those little pieces of fatherly advice that I am going store away for a rainy (snowy/icy/slushy) day.

Actually, I think he later worried that he had sent me out to my death, because he called me to see how I was doing. So not only was I driving in the ice and the snow, I was talking on my phone and driving in the ice and the snow. Except when he called, I was sitting completely still in a traffic jam watching a tow truck unsuccessful attempt to pull an upside-down RV out of the median.

So, exciting times were had by all. And my car didn't slip or slide once, because it is the bestest car in the whole wide world, and it will receive five dollars worth of premium gasoline (what is that, like 3 gallons?) sometime soon as a reward for good behavior!


the Polyphonic Spree-Days Like This Keep Me Warm

10:07 a.m.

01-04-04

What is the opposite of homesick?

Oh man. I have to go home tomorrow.

I was thinking about taking my record player with me (which has been here since I moved in August), but then I thought, "ehh, what's the point? I just have to move in eight months anyway."*

And I realized that I haven't even lived through half of my lease yet.**

(And after August, I have no idea what I'm doing or where I'll be or anything, but right now I'm more worried about the immediate problems of going home to a place I hate.)

Something has to change, but I'm not sure how it is going to happen without a massive bloody coup during which I take control of the house.





*I don't have anywhere to put it, either, so my hospital white room would just contain me, a bed, dresser and a record player on the floor.


np: Guided By Voices-I'll Replace You With Machines

1:46 a.m.

previous | next